Search Email Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram Alternate Map Marker Phone Phone Square angle-right chevron-right play

Sustainable Communities in the TVA Region

Sustainable economic development balances the need for economic growth with environmental and societal accountability. It ensures a healthy environment, a thriving community, and economic prosperity.

The Valley Sustainable Communities Program, developed and administered by Boyette Strategic Advisors, assists communities in identifying and cataloging their sustainable assets and increasing their sustainability commitments. The economic development focus is to increase a community’s competitiveness when companies are looking to invest in new or expanded locations in the Valley.

Valley Sustainable Communities are leaders in sustainable energy, water conservation, waste reduction, natural resource protection, and overall quality of place. Through the program, designated communities meet strict environmental, economic, and social goals.

Communities Stewarding Sustainability

There are three levels of qualification for communities in achieving sustainability. These levels are based on an individual community’s sustainable efforts, as well as meeting qualification components in four areas: preparation, economic, environmental, and societal.

Platinum Communities

A Valley Sustainable Platinum Community has made a significant and comprehensive commitment to sustainability and has thoroughly integrated economic development into its sustainability efforts.

Platinum Communities:

  • Chattanooga/Hamilton County, TN
  • Florence, AL
  • Franklin, TN
  • Germantown, TN
  • Huntsville, AL
  • Memphis/Shelby County, TN
  • Knoxville, TN
  • Nashville/Davidson County, TN
  • Oak Ridge, TN

Gold Communities

A Valley Sustainable Gold Community is one that has taken a leadership role in implementing sustainable practices and has made a commitment to sustainability efforts focused on economic development.

Gold Communities:

  • Athens/McMinn County, TN
  • Blount County, TN
  • Clarksville, TN
  • Cleveland/Bradley County, TN
  • Cookeville, TN
  • Hopkinsville/Christian County, KY
  • Lewisburg, TN
  • Maury County, TN
  • Murfreesboro, TN
  • Oxford/Lafayette County, MS
  • Scottsboro, AL
  • Starkville, MS
  • Tupelo, MS
  • Washington County, TN

Silver Communities

A Valley Sustainable Silver Community has community-wide sustainability initiatives in place, with some programs available to support the business community and economic development opportunities.

Silver Communities:

  • Cadiz/Trigg County, KY
  • Crossville/Cumberland County, TN
  • Fort Payne, AL
  • Giles County, TN
  • Greene County, TN
  • Lawrence County, TN
  • Logan County, KY
  • McNairy County, TN
  • Morristown/Hamblen County, TN
  • Roane County, TN
  • Wayne County, TN